Just another WordPress.com site

Review of Chapters 3&4 in ‘Content Rules’

In order for a business to be successful, it is essential that the people in charge know what they’re doing. Chapters 3 and 4 in ‘Content Rules’  point out some details necessary to the business of marketing.

Who Is Your Audience?

If you want your business to do well, it’s important  to understand who the audience is. I need to know what my potential customers are looking for before I can attempt to sell them something. Also, knowing my customers will make my company seem more open and friendly. The audience needs to feel like their voices matter.  This is a creative business  and creativity is what is needed to appeal to the audience and keep them interested.

Also, It’s a good idea to develop a relationship with the audience; to speak to them causally yet in an appropriate fashion. I’d like to point out that this is one thing that is very different from my major (Psychology) I always get the sense that the bigger and more complicated the terms, the better. In Writing for the web however, the goal is to get the audience to relate to your pitch. If they can’t understand what you’re saying, than there is no point in saying it.

Who Are You? 

We all have our own personal style when it comes to writing.  Authors and poets are easily distinguished from one another due to their unique ‘voice’. Chapter 4 brings this up because it is an essential part of writing. “A critical step in developing great content is to develop your own distinct voice.” As a writer, I have worked on creating my own voice. I would like to think that my writing style is unique to me and the way  I write tells the reader something other than  the literal words on the page.

Chapter 4 talks about the importance of voice because it is how you market your product and sets a tone for the audience.  One of my favorite lines from the chapter says: “Before you can truly understand your customers, you have to understand yourself”. I agree with this statement wholeheartedly. If a person doesn’t understand themselves, than marketing they do will seem phony and customers will be able to see right through it.

 

These chapters have made me realize how much passion and creativity is required in this field. It is an art to be able to market products to people and it takes genuine concern for the customer to be successful. I’m gaining much more respect for marketing and what it takes to do well. ‘Content Rules’ is a book that makes writing for the web fun and easy.

 

One response

  1. nicoleshoe

    Good insight Megan. And I liked your use of subtitles because it made the blog easier for me to read (bonus points!).
    Marketing writing is definitely not easy. Not only are you expected to be creative, but you have to do it in a way that is best for the product AND the audience, so yes, it is a bit more crafty of writing than some people realize.

    February 18, 2012 at 4:01 am

Leave a Reply

